Roasted Chicken and Tomatillo Soup

IMG_0191x

Check out my tomatillo soup. I seared and roasted the chicken legs. Charred all the tomas, jalas, onions and garlic. Pureed all the veg, shredded the chix. Simmered and added more chix stock. Added black beans. And yes, I could have stopped there. Oh no. I then fried corn tortillas in the chix fat for a garnish. I could be satisfied, but no. I then fry the chix skin to a bacon-like crispness and you can see it nestled in the dollop of greek yogurt. I am overwhelmed. My eyes are watering from the spice; I’m hiccuping from the tart, sweet ‘n sour flavor of tomatillos. It’s not pretty but dang, I’m happy.¬†Photo: Becca Henry.

TOMATILLO SOUP

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

